Curriculum at EGS

The purpose of the Enfield Grammar School Curriculum is to allow our students to develop intellectually, socially and personally and allow them to find their place in our world. We aim to instil an enjoyment of life, embracing its challenges with resilience and purpose.
We will do this through high expectations, with support when needed, thoughtful experiences and good humour! Our students need to discover a desire to learn and take this with them through to adulthood.

Our curriculum is, therefore, carefully constructed with the intent of shaping the whole individual to help them become ‘the best they can be,’ honouring our motto to give ‘all that they can’. We are implementing our intentions with academic and skills based content using outstanding classroom pedagogy, as we also strive to ‘give all that we can’.

We also strive to equip our students with the emotional awareness of their own wellbeing using a structured form program and individual mentoring to support them as they grow into capable and successful young men. We have the pleasure of seeing the impact of our provision not only in academic outcomes but also as our students’ fulfil their potential; be that academic, social or moral.

Below summarises some of the key areas that we are proud to be working on at our school;



Our motto – ‘Tant Que Je Puis’ – As much as I can

Aim – Our aim to prepare our boys for the world. To give them the skills, knowledge and morals to be of use, to serve and to positively affect those that they encounter along the way. We expect hard work, good manners and in turn provide learning opportunities where all can fulfil their potential be that academic, social or moral

Curriculum Vision – All staff and students working to be the best that they can be. Enjoying the challenge and preparing them for the next stage of their development – whatever that is



Broad and ambitious Curriculum 

  • Literacy
  • Core Citizenship
  • Briitsh Values
  • Physical development
  • Communication Choices
  • Careers
  • Wellbeing
  • Broad KS3
  • Cultural Capital
  • EBACC Curriculum at KS4
  • Vocational & Academic Post 16


Excellent Teaching

  • Continued Focus on Staff CPD
  • Planned sequenced learning based on a spiral, balanced (knowledge and skills) curriculum
  • Providing timely, relevant feedback
  • Challenge for all with scaffolding where needed
  • Aspirations for all – to do all that they can
  • Experiences



  • Day trips and Residentials
  • Sporting Fixtures
  • Creativity
  • Musical Performances
  • Presenting / Debating (Speak Out)
  • Wellbeing (inc. Sandwell)



  • Online Safety
  • Drugs Education
  • Knife Crime
  • Gangs & County Lines Awareness
  • First Aid
  • Anti-Racism
  • Anti-Bullying
  • Peer Mentoring
  • Social Media Awareness
  • Personal Safety




  • Pupils develop detailed knowledge and skills across the curriculum and, as a result, achieve well
  • Pupils are ready for the next stage of education, employment or training
  • Pupils with SEND achieve the best possible outcomes



  • Positive progress score, ISDR, Internal data
  • Destinations, retention, vocational routes, Russell Group, Apprenticeships
  • Systems, monitoring and tracking




“Pupils achieve well. They make good progress in all year groups in English and mathematics and in other subject areas”.  Ofsted

We offer a broad and rich curriculum at Enfield Grammar, giving students a wide experience in a variety of subjects. One of our fundamental principles is to enable students to fully experience a diverse range of subjects in Key Stage 3, before selecting personalised pathways in Key Stage 4 and 5.

GCSEs in England are graded with a scale from 9 to 1, with 9 being the highest grade.

For more information please visit the Ofqual website (link below):